Introducing the contenders
Discover our comparison of the new Suunto Run 2 against the Suunto Run, the flagship running watches from the Finnish brand. Sharing the same display size of 1.32 inches, a screen resolution of 466 x 466 px and 50 m (5 ATM) water resistance, they differ on several key points: screen brightness (2000 nits vs 600 nits), the presence of offline mapping on version 2, a new heart rate sensor, a slight improvement in GPS mode battery life as well as an upgrade in storage memory (up to 64 GB on this new version).
| Suunto Run | Suunto Run 2 | |
|---|---|---|
| Screen type | AMOLED screen | AMOLED screen |
| Screen size | 1.32 inch | 1.32 inch |
| Smartwatch battery life | Up to 8 days (daily use) | Up to 10 days (daily use) |
| Weight | 36 g | 35 g |
| GPS | GPS, GLONASS, GALILEO, QZSS, BEIDOU | GPS, GLONASS, GALILEO, QZSS, BEIDOU |
Materials & design
| Suunto Run | Suunto Run 2 | |
|---|---|---|
| Dimensions | 46 x 46 x 11.5 mm | 46 x 46 x 11.7 mm |
| Weight | 36 g | 35 g |
| Case materials | Glass fiber reinforced polyamide | Glass fiber reinforced polyamide |
| Bezel materials | Stainless steel | Stainless steel |
| Screen materials | Gorilla Glass | Gorilla Glass |
| Strap | Nylon textile (width 22 mm) | Silicone (Strap width: 22 mm) |
| Water resistance | 5 ATM (50 m) | 5 ATM (50 m) |
Screen: Suunto Run vs Suunto Run 2
| Suunto Run | Suunto Run 2 | |
|---|---|---|
| Screen type | AMOLED screen | AMOLED screen |
| Screen size | 1.32 inch | 1.32 inch |
| Resolution | 466 x 466 resolution | 466 x 466 resolution |
| Touch / color screen | Touchscreen / Color screen | Touchscreen / Color screen |
| Always-on | Permanent display mode available | Permanent display mode available |
| Auto brightness | Automatic brightness (600 nits max) | Automatic brightness (2000 nits max) |
Battery life: Suunto Run vs Suunto Run 2
| Suunto Run | Suunto Run 2 | |
|---|---|---|
| Battery type | Rechargeable lithium-ion | Rechargeable lithium-ion (380 mAh vs 295 mAh) |
| Smartwatch battery life | Up to 8 days daily use | Up to 10 days daily use |
| GPS battery life (all systems) | Up to 30 h (GNSS mode all systems + single band) | Up to 30 h (GNSS mode all systems + single band) |
| Dual frequency battery life | Up to 20 h (High performance / GNSS all systems + multi-band) | 24 h in high performance / GNSS all systems + multi-band mode |
| Battery life with music | Not specified separately | Not specified separately |
| Charging type | Charging cable | USB-C charging cable |
| Charging time | Not specified | Not specified |
Connectivity & watch features
| Suunto Run | Suunto Run 2 | |
|---|---|---|
| Operating system | Suunto operating system | Suunto operating system |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth | Bluetooth |
| WiFi | - | - |
| ANT+ | - | - |
| Speaker / Microphone | - | - |
| Voice assistant | - | - |
| Notifications | Phone notifications displayed on watch | Phone notifications displayed on watch |
| Calls from watch | - | - |
| LTE connection | - | - |
| Satellite calls | - | - |
| Contactless payment | Not available | Not available |
| Music storage | Offline music storage on watch | Offline music storage on watch |
| Internal memory | 4GB | 4GB (Standard, maps+music) / 64GB (Premium, maps+music) |
| Activity memory | Logbook with exercise details | History and details of training recordings |
| LED flashlight | No, flashlight via screen backlight | No, flashlight via screen backlight |
| Safety / SOS function | - | - |
| Third-party apps | Strava, TrainingPeaks and more | Strava, TrainingPeaks and more |
Sensors: Suunto Run vs Suunto Run 2
| Suunto Run | Suunto Run 2 | |
|---|---|---|
| Multiband GPS | Dual band (L1+L5) | Dual band (L1+L5) - Next generation navigation |
| GPS systems | GPS, GLONASS, GALILEO, QZSS, BEIDOU | GPS, GLONASS, GALILEO, QZSS, BEIDOU |
| Heart rate sensor | Wrist integrated heart rate | 12-channel sensor behind 2.5D curved glass (improved version) |
| SpO2 | Blood oxygen | Blood oxygen |
| ECG | - | - |
| Barometric altimeter | Barometric altimeter | Barometric altimeter |
| 3D compass | Digital compass | Digital compass (5° accuracy) |
| Gyroscope | - | - |
| Accelerometer | - | - |
| Skin thermometer | - | - |
| Ambient light sensor | Yes | Yes |
| Depth sensor | - | - |
Sports & training: Suunto Run vs Suunto Run 2
| Suunto Run | Suunto Run 2 | |
|---|---|---|
| Number of sports | 34 sport modes | 35 sport modes |
| Main sports | Running (road, trail, treadmill, track), hiking, cycling, yoga, tennis, etc. | Running (road, trail, treadmill, track), cycling, swimming, hiking, gym, triathlon... |
| Multisport / triathlon mode | Multisport modes available | Multisport modes available |
| Mapping | - | Free downloadable offline maps (landscape / worldwide) |
| Back to start | Yes | Yes |
| Training plans | Structured workouts / intervals | Training tools for marathon / race prediction |
| Race predictor | Marathon Time / Real-time marathon prediction | Marathon Time / Real-time marathon prediction |
| Virtual pacer | Ghost runner | Ghost runner |
| Dive mode | - | - |
Our FAQ Suunto Run or Suunto Run 2?
What are the main differences between the Suunto Run and the Suunto Run 2?
What is the difference in screen and battery life between the two watches?